APRIL 24th



‘With’ captures Ambitious 2019 Tour With One-Time-Only 10-Piece Band Featuring Members of Bon Iver, Wye Oak, Hiss Golden Messenger, Mountain Man, Mandolin Orange, Hand Habits and Mr. Twin Sister


WITH will debut on April 23 at 9PM ET / April 24 at 11am AEDT via YouTube Premiere.


Sylvan Esso has announced WITH, a 60-minute live concert film that captures a magical, lightning in a bottle moment in the group’s history and celebrates one of the Durham, NC duo’s core tenets: community. Sylvan Esso’s Amelia Meath and Nick Sanborn recruited a dream team 10-piece ensemble – musicians that perform with Bon Iver, Wye Oak, Mountain Man, Hiss Golden Messenger, Mandolin Orange, Hand Habits, and Mr. Twin Sister – and set out on the limited engagement fall 2019 WITH tour that found their songs reaching expansive new realms.  This pivotal moment included two sold-out shows at New York’s Beacon Theatre, Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium, and Los Angeles’ Disney Hall. The WITH tour culminated with two sold-out hometown shows at Durham Performing Arts Center, captured in this live concert film.



Fans are encouraged to host their own private watch parties with friends for the premiere.  More details can be found at


Watch the WITH trailer below:




Of the project, the band explains, “We knew that in order to put on the best show we possibly could in a few short weeks we had to truly lean on and trust the friends we had asked to become part of our band. The end result – as with so many communal efforts – was much greater than the sum of its parts, in ways we could have never dreamed of. The world has completely shifted in a few months – the idea of togetherness rings in a different way. It was such a special moment that now feels like a signpost of how things were and how they could be again.”


Orchestrated with an army of synths, saxophone, two drummers and intricate three-part vocals provided by Amelia with her Mountain Man bandmates, WITH showcases several of Sylvan Esso’s most beloved songs from their studio albums, Sylvan Esso and What Now: “Die Young,” “Coffee,” “Radio,” “Rewind.”  The WITH band transformed these tracks into a more interactive and ever changing experience that opened up the idea of what a Sylvan Esso song could be. The film also captures the intense two weeks of preparation and rehearsing that preceded the tour, a home movie of sorts for this newly united creative family.


Sylvan Esso’s WITH
Filmed November 2019 at Durham Performing Arts Center
Filmed/Directed by Josh Sliffe


Meg Duffy (Hand Habits): Guitar
Dev Gupta (Mr. Twin Sister): Synths, Keys, Electronics
Matt McCaughan (Bon Iver, Hiss Golden Messenger): Drums, Electronics
Amelia Meath (Sylvan Esso): Lead Vocals
Nick Sanborn (Sylvan Esso): Bass, Synths, Keys, Electronics, Vocals
Molly Sarlé (Mountain Man): Vocals
Alexandra Sauser-Monnig (Mountain Man, Daughter of Swords): Vocals
Adam Schatz (Landlady): Woodwinds, Electronics, Vocals
Jenn Wasner (Wye Oak): Bass, Synths, Keys, Vocals
Joe Westerlund (Mandolin Orange): Drums, Percussion


Sylvan Esso is Amelia Meath and Nick Sanborn, both from Durham, NC. They’ve released two albums, 2014’s self-titled debut and 2017’s What Now, both of which entered the Billboard 200 Album Chart. The GRAMMY-nominated group has performed on Fallon, NPR’s Tiny Desk, and top festivals including Coachella, Lollapalooza, Austin City Limits, and Eaux Claires. Paste named “Hey Mami” the No. 1 song of 2014, and a 2017 New York Times feature declared: “Sylvan Esso Keeps Electronic Pop Human.” In 2015, they recorded “Jaime’s Song” for NPR’s Radiolab as a way to explore and understand bipolar disorder.


Connect with Sylvan Esso: