Listen to The Teskey Brothers’ new single ‘Hold Me’ + second album Run Home Slow out Friday 2 August!



Ivy League Records is honoured to announce that The Teskey Brothers will release their timeless second record, Run Home Slow on Friday 2 August – available to pre-order on all formats now! To celebrate, the band has revealed the album’s celebratory first single and equally powerful video, ‘Hold Me’.


Watch the video for ‘Hold Me’, directed by WE ARE MOON HOUSE

‘Hold Me’ feels like a fitting introduction to what is a raw, honest and masterfully crafted album. The single sees The Teskey Brothers strip back to their most rudimentary form; boots stomping on floorboards, claps holding the beat and four friends harmonising around a single microphone while lead singer Josh Teskey rouses the pack with opening line:“That storm coming down hard, I’m your shelter anytime it starts”. It’s a primal, haunting reminder of what The Teskey Brothers can do with just their voices, hands, feet and a few instruments.

Over the 11 wide-ranging tracks on Run Home Slow, The Teskey Brothers (singer Josh Teskey, guitarist Sam Teskey, bassist Brendan Love and drummer Liam Gough) more than deliver on the promise of their first record, Half Mile Harvest (2017), and manage to pull off a feat that has eluded many other bands. They have followed up a breakthrough debut with an album that not only pushes their music in new directions, and in the process solidifies their sound into something truly their own, but they’ve done it without sacrificing any of the charm and authenticity that endeared them to their ever-growing audience in the first place.

“We were really aware that we didn’t want to alienate fans,” Liam says. “We love our fans and feel really proud of the first album, but the second album needed to be a step up.” To help them navigate this process they enlisted the help of producer Paul Butler (Michael Kiwanuka, St Paul & The Broken Bones, Andrew Bird) who flew in to work with the band at their home studio in Warrandyte, Victoria. In Paul, The Teskey’s found both a mentor and critic who would allow them to progress sonically without losing the raw simplicity and space they had achieved on Half Mile Harvest.

Avoiding genre labels is something that the band have strived for musically on Run Home Slow, incorporating elements of southern rock, Americana, psychedelia, Dixieland jazz, gospel and a surprise striking pop centrepiece.

On Run Home Slow, The Teskey Brothers have made an album that honors their past, resonates wonderfully in the present and looks forward to a continually brighter future.

The highly anticipated announcement of the band’s sophomore album comes on the eve of the band’s Australian tour, which kicks off at The Zoo tomorrow in Brisbane followed by sold-out dates at the Oxford Art Factory in Sydney on Friday 10 May, and four sold-out Melbourne shows at Howler (Saturday 11 May), Gasometer (Monday 13 May), The Night Cat (Tuesday 14 May) and Northcote Social Club (Thursday 16 May).

Run Home Slow
The Teskey Brothers
Out Friday 2 August through Ivy League Records
Available to pre-order here

Run Home Slow tracklist:
1. Let Me Let You Down
2. Carry You
3. Man Of The Universe
4. Hold Me
5. Paint My Heart
6. Rain
7. So Caught Up
8. San Francisco
9. Sunshine Baby
10. Sun Come Ease Me In
11. That Bird


Thu 9 May       The Zoo, Fortitude Valley, QLD                   SELLING FAST!
Fri 10 May       Oxford Art Factory, Darlinghurst, NSW       SOLD OUT!
Sat 11 May      Howler, Brunswick, VIC                               SOLD OUT!
Mon 13 May    The Gasometer Hotel, Collingwood, VIC    SOLD OUT!
Tue 14 May     The Night Cat, Fitzroy, VIC                          SOLD OUT!
Thu 16 May     Northcote Social Club, Northcote, VIC        SOLD OUT! 
(all profits to go to Children’s Ground)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *