Caligula’s Horse, hailing from Brisbane, a leading light in contemporary progressive metal worldwide, released their fifth studio album, Rise Radiant, recently. Produced by the group’s Sam Vallen, and mixed by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Devin Townsend Project, Leprous), the record is their most focussed and potent artistic statement to date.


The band launch the video for new single, Oceanrise, watch it now here:


Dale Prinsse comments: “Oceanrise frames life’s triumphs by celebrating the legacy we each leave behind in death. This was the first song written for the album, and represents Caligula’s Horse in a dynamic, colourful, and uplifting way. Performing in this music video was incredibly fun and full of smiles. The filming coalesced with the day we released our fifth album ‘Rise Radiant’, and the first time the band had seen each other in person for many months. We hope you enjoy it.”


The band are also celebrating their highest chart positions yet, including hitting number 23 in the Australian charts. Find the full list of results below:


#23 Albums
#3 Australian Artist Albums
#6 Vinyl Albums

#9 Physical Albums

#43 Albums

#100 Albums

#25 Albums

#5 Rock
#56 Physical Chart

#10 Current Hard Music Albums
#29 Current Rock Albums


Watch the band discuss what sets Rise Radiantout from their previous records here.

Listen to the album’s most recent single, Valkyrie, here.

Watch the video for Slow Violence, directed and produced by the band’s own Adrian Goleby & Dale Prinsse, here.

You can also go behind the scenes with the band on the filming of Slow Violence here.



Guitarist Sam Vallen comments: “Rise Radiant is the album we’ve been working towards for almost a decade. It represents everything we love about Caligula’s Horse – the colour, the ferocity, the introspection, the extremes – all tied up together in a way we could never have managed until now. As a band, we’ve never felt tighter, more inspired, or more driven than in the creation of this record. We’re tremendously proud of Rise Radiant, and we can’t wait for you to hear it!”


Rise Radiant is an uncompromising exploration of the human experience dressed in vivid musical colour and virtuosic performances. It is an anthem for the regeneration of self-belief, an exploration of the themes of legacy, and a rallying cry for survival. Comprised of 8 tracks, Rise Radiant will be available as a limited CD Digipak, Gatefold 2LP + CD & as digital download. The formats also include 2 bonus tracks, covers of the Split Enz track Message To My Girl & Peter Gabriel’s Don’t Give Up, which also features a guest appearance by Lynsey Ward of Exploring Birdsong.




01. The Tempest
02. Slow Violence
03. Salt
04. Resonate
05. Oceanrise
06. Valkyrie
07. Autumn
08. The Ascent