Electropop singer-songwriter James Hersey wants you to escape with him in his new single “Souvenir” – out now. Full of sunny rhythms, the song is Hersey’s third release since the end of last year, which he announced today will all be included in his forthcoming debut full-length album, Fiction, out September 17th on Glassnote Records.


On the new track, Hersey shares, “‘Souvenir’ is a lockdown escape fantasy. It came from the simple desire to see my girl carefree and happy again, inspired by never-ending nights in Berlin and our unforgettable days at the Mediterranean sea.”


Prior to “Souvenir,” Hersey shared singles “Forget (About Everyone Else)” and teamed up with the Canadian synth masters for “Closer (ft. Chromeo).” The former explored loving your partner unconditionally and the latter, as the name suggests, was an anthem for getting “Closer.” While all three have slightly different themes, they ultimately string together different parts of being in love.


James explains further, “Fiction is about taking a step beyond realism to see the inner workings of a mind in love. The album opens at the height of infatuation and optimism with ‘Forget (About Everyone Else),’ and takes the listener through stages of doubt, confusion, conflict, and hope to find empowered clarity on the other side.”



Produced by Will Hicks (Ed Sheeran, James Blunt), the album is accented by a punk attitude and showcases Hersey flexing a knack for writing rich melodies alongside ear candy production, which in total invites listeners to enjoy a bit of levity.


Written entirely before the pandemic and subsequently brought to life in equal parts before and after the world changed, it buoyantly grapples with themes of romance, empathy and, as Hersey succinctly puts it, “unconditional everything. I want people to have fun without ignoring anything that’s happening out there.”


2017’s Pages EP rapidly made him an online sensation, gaining support from the likes of Radio 1’s Annie Mac, Apple Music’s Zane Lowe, as well as Mistajam, Adele Roberts, Cel Spellman, and Maz Tappuni (Communion). In 2019, his exceptional eight-track mini-album “Innerverse” accrued over 30M streams.


Along the way, Hersey has received accolades from tastemaker publications including The Telegraph, Wonderland, The Line Of Best Fit, CLASH, DIY, Idolator, EARMILK, Red Bull, and tmrw Mag.


“Souvenir” is available on all platforms now.
Fiction is out via Glassnote Records on September 17th, 2021


 Fiction Tracklisting
1. Closer (ft. Chromeo)
2. Souvenir
3. Lately
4. Forget (About Everyone Else)
5. The Storm
6. Waste It All
7. Between Us
8. The End
9. Yesterday
10. Full of Yourself
11. For Your Love
12. Upside Down


Follow James Hersey


Stay Connected With Black Of Hearts