Garbage have announced the details of their 20th anniversary reissue of the band’s third studio album, Beautiful Garbage. The reissue will be released on October 1st, exactly 20 years after the album was first released.


Ahead of the album release, Garbage have today released a previously unheard version of ‘Androgyny’. ‘Androgyny’ features lyrical content and a message that was ahead of its time upon its release in 2001, and was reflective of Garbage’s new pop-leaning sound.


Speaking of the Beautiful Garbage reissue, Shirley Manson says, “we wanted to celebrate the release of our third album in the same manner as we have celebrated the 20th anniversaries of our previous two records, as we cherish this third child of ours just as much as its predecessors. Over time it has garnered more and more respect from our fans, with many of the songs remaining in rotation in our live sets to this day. We’ve always felt incredibly proud of this record and felt it was in many ways very much ahead of its time.


Twenty years down the line, we are all exceedingly grateful to have such well-crafted songs in our discography and are very proud that against all the odds we are still standing and can give our beloved album the tribute it so very much deserves.”  


Marking a departure from the sound that Garbage had established on their first two releases, Beautiful Garbage was written and recorded over the course of a year. Shirley Manson chronicled the band’s efforts weekly online becoming one of the first high-profile musicians to keep an internet blog in the pro-cess. The album expanded on the band’s acclaimed musical variety with more direct lyrics and sounds that mixed rock with electronic, new wave, hip-hop and girl group influences. Beautiful Garbage reached #1 on the ARIA Chart when it was released in 2001, was immediately certified gold, and went on to spend four weeks in the top-10. 20 years later, the album is certified double platinum in Australia.


The 2021 release of Beautiful Garbage has been remastered from the original recordings. The album will be released across deluxe 3LP (with stickers, a poster and a setlist), white double vinyl, black double vinyl, deluxe 3CD, and deluxe digital formats. The deluxe packages include b-sides, demos, and remixes.



Garbage – ‘Androgyny (Rough Mix March 14, 2001)’
Out now through Liberator Music
Listen here

Garbage – Beautiful Garbage (20th Anniversary Edition)
Out 1 October 2021
through Liberator Music
Pre-order here


Deluxe 3LP box set                                                              Deluxe 3CD


Black double vinyl                                             White double vinyl


Garbage – Beautiful Garbage (20th Anniversary Edition) tracklisting:
1. Shut Your Mouth (2021 Remaster)
2. Androgyny (2021 Remaster)
3. Can’t Cry These Tears (2021 Remaster)
4. Till The Day I Die (2021 Remaster)
5. Cup of Coffee (2021 Remaster)
6. Silence Is Golden (2021 Remaster)
7. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (2021 Remaster)
8. Breaking Up The Girl (2021 Remaster)
9. Drive You Home (2021 Remaster)
10. Parade (2021 Remaster)
11. Nobody Loves You (2021 Remaster)
12. Untouchable (2021 Remaster)
13. So Like A Rose (2021 Remaster)
14. Candy Says (2021 Remaster)
15. Use Me (2021 Remaster)
16. Sex Never Goes Out Of Fashion (2021 Remaster)
17. Begging Bone (2021 Remaster)
18. April 10th (2021 Remaster)
19. Happiness, Pt. 2 (2021 Remaster)
20. Confidence (2021 Remaster)
21. Enough Is Never Enough (2021 Remaster)
22. Wild Horses (BBC Recovered – Live)
23. I’m Really Into Techno (2021 Remaster)
24. Pride (In the Name of Love)
25. Androgyny (Rough Mix March 14, 2001)
26. Till The Day I Die (Demo Sept 14, 1999)
27. Nobody Loves You (Rough Mix March 14, 2001)
28. Breaking Up The Girl (Acoustic – 2021 Remaster)
29. Silence Is Golden (Demo Sept 14, 1999)
30. Can’t Cry These Tears (Rough Mix March 14, 2001)
31. Shut Your Mouth (BBC Recovered – Live)
32. Begging Bone (Early Demo Mix)
33. Shut Your Mouth (Jagz Kooner Radio Mix – 2021 Remaster)
34. Shut Your Mouth (Jolly Music Scary Full Vocal Mix – 2021 Remaster)
35. Shut Your Mouth (Professor Reay Clubbed Dead Pig Mix – 2021 Remaster)
36. Androgyny (Neptunes Remix – 2021 Remaster)
37. Androgyny (Felix Da Housecat Thee Glitz Mix – 2021 Remaster)
38. Androgyny (The Architechs Mix – 2021 Remaster)
39. Breaking Up The Girl (Timo Maas Radio Mix – 2021 Remaster)
40. Breaking Up The Girl (Brothers In Rhythm Radio Edit – 2021 Remaster)
41. Breaking Up The Girl (The Scourge Of The Earth Rodeo Rave Remix By Jimmy Caulty – 2021 Remaster)
42. Breaking Up The Girl (Black Dog Wounded By The Warbeast Mix – 2021 Remaster)
43. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (Le Royale Mix – 2021 Remaster)
44. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (MaUVe’s Dark Remix With Acapella Edit – 2021 Remaster)
45. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (DJEJ’s Go-Go Jam – 2021 Remaster)
46. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (Roger Sanchez Tha S-Man’s Release Mix (Radio Edit) – 2021 Remaster)
47. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (Howie B Remix – 2021 Remaster)
48. Parade (End Of Night Mix – 2021 Remaster)
49. Shut Your Mouth (Jagz Kooner Full Vocal Mix)
50. Shut Your Mouth (Jadell Remix)
51. Shut Your Mouth (Professor Reay Dead Pig Dub Mix)
52. Shut Your Mouth (Cuban Boys Rascasse Edit Mix)
53. Shut Your Mouth (Cuban Boys Rocksteady Electro Mix)
54. Shut Your Mouth (Broadway Project Remix)
55. Androgyny (Felix Da Housecat Thee Drum Drum Mix – 2021 Remaster)
56. Androgyny (The Architechs Dub – 2021 Remaster)
57. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (MaUVe’s Dark Remix With Acapella – 2021 Remaster)
58. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (Roger Sanchez Tha S-Man’s Release (Bomb) Mix – 2021 Remaster)
59. Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) (Roger Sanchez Tha S-Man’s Release Dub – 2021 Remaster)
60. Breaking Up The Girl (Timo Maas Club Full Vox – 2021 Remaster)
61. Breaking Up The Girl (Brothers In Rhythm Therapy Mix – 2021 Remaster)
62. Breaking Up The Girl (Brothers In Rhythm Therapy Dub – 2021 Remaster)
63. Breaking Up The Girl (Black Dog Splitsville Mix – 2021 Remaster)
64. Breaking Up The Girl (Black Dog Ripped Out Fireplace Mix – 2021 Remaster)
* Tracklist for the physical release differs by format

Follow Garbage



Stay Connected With Black Of Hearts